Rob Wall's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Life in Links

Posted by robjwall on June 2, 2010

We are sadly now packing up to leave Cornwall! That went quick. I have been too lazy to ‘blog’, so here are a few links instead.

When we arrived we all shared these Kayaks and have paddled all the creeks here (including the ‘Frenchmans Creek’).

At Easter we had a big reunion for my parents-in-laws Golden Wedding. Kate has made this into a great book, that you can see online.

One night Demelza and I went to Penzance to see an IMS concert. This was probably the best chamber music I have heard. The Barbirolli quartet were incredible. There was Scumann and Schubert on the programme. I think Schumann is my favourite composer. I will miss the BBC radio 3 tribute day this Sunday to commemerate 200 years since he was born.

Kira, Tarquin and I did a quick week climbing in Provence. One night we arrived late and ended up by chance in the best hotel I have ever been in!

Come spring we got to climb 3 or 4 times at Sennen. I don’t seem to be pushing the grades here – but the kids are! They have been enjoying the excellent rock and fine HS And VS routes!

Melz and I had a long weekend in Wales, Coasteering, Climbing and doing a ropes course (like this one) with our friends

Kate and I escaped the kids for two great nights in St Ives. Its a stunning town to look at with lots of great food. I’ll try and post some of Kate’s great pictures later.

Just when I thought we had a free weekend, Kate’s brother Hugh made the RU final for Saracens – so we got to see all the family at that event!

We have been lucky enough to get permission to mountain bike some of the tracks here Its great fun after rain! In Canada (next week!) we all plan to have bikes. My other favourite ride is to Porthlevin which takes about 2 hours return (with a good coffee in the middle at the small Cafe up the hill. They make a *really* good cup). I love my bike.

With such a short time in Europe, I have traveled quite a bit, but really the Lizard (all 20km from here) has subtle beauty everywhere. Some people never seem to leave. Maybe this is the reason. I think there is a lot more to do here than we have too: surfing at Porthleven, riding, coasteering, gliding, bouldering (Logan Rock, Zennor?)….. The climbing is not up to the quality of the Lands-End Granite. But thats only an hour away. Two hours the other way and you can be on a ferry to France. Five hours on a train and you are in London. Which is what we do this weekend! enroute to Squamish🙂

One Response to “Life in Links”

  1. helene said

    Fab blog, you look like such a happy family!

Leave a Reply

 
